Key Stage 5

Up to July 2015

In Sixth Form, students can choose to study the GCE AS and A-Level Psychology courses. They will follow the new AQA specification, where 2 Units will be studied at AS and a further 2 studied at A2. The A-Level assessment will be through 100% exam at different times over the two year course. At present, the Psychology A-level is available to those who have taken the GCSE course and those that have not.

Modules covered at A-Level are:

Unit 1:

  • Cognitive Psychology - Memory,
  • Developmental Psychology - Social and attachment development,
  • Research Methods.

Unit 2:

  • Biological Psychology - Stress,
  • Social Psychology - Influences and obedience
  • Individual Differences - Abnormality.

Unit 3:

  • Biological Rhythms, Sleep,
  • Relationships,
  • Intelligence.

Unit 4:

  • Psychopathology,
  • Psychology in Action,
  • Research Methods.

From September 2015

In Sixth Form, students can choose to study the GCE (AQA) A-Level Psychology course and as from September 2015, they will study the new two year linear A-level in Psychology.  At the end of this time, students will sit an exam at the end of the course, worth 100% of their A-level grade.

Students will learn about the following compulsory content, as well as three additional components of study:

Compulsory content

  • Social influence
  • Memory
  • Attachment
  • Psychopathology
  • Approaches in Psychology
  • Biopsychology
  • Research methods
  • Issues and debates in psychology

Additional content

  • Relationships
  • Schizophrenia
  • Forensic Psychology

The assessment for the A-level will be in three separate two hour exams and questions will range from multiple choice, short answer and extended writing formats.